Update

I have now undone the little bit of my Green Man weaving but so far have not had time to redo it, which actually I think is not a bad thing as it gives me time to consider ‘Textile Ranger’s’ suggestion regarding colour scheme – see comments on my last post – a suggestion I fully intend to take on board.  The reason for the lack of progress is, as I mentioned, due to an extremely busy month. I have now completed editing my magazine and it just remains to proof-read it and then get it to the printers, but I still have other October tasks to complete.

However, I did managed to go along to my local library for a couple of hours earlier in the month to a spinning demonstration. It is more years than I care to remember since I last used my spinning wheel and I felt I needed a refresher course. I am now all fired up to try spinning again – when I can find some time. The elderly lady doing the demonstration told us she learnt to spin as a wartime evacuee, doing all her early spinning on a drop spindle using hedgerow fleece gleanings. It was apparently many years before she got a wheel. I have some hedgerow gleanings my daughter collected for me which I intended to use for the ‘core’ of some needle felting projects but now I am tempted to have a go with my drop spindle before returning to my wheel.

It’s curious how things happen; out of the blue a friend of my husband phoned a few weeks ago and asked if he knew anyone who would like some fleece (he knows I weave) – I’m expecting it to turn up and day now!

Meanwhile some of you might be interested in the exhibition below (no, I am not exhibiting). I am sorry it is rather short notice:

Colour Block Show flyerColour Block, The Textile Show: 9th-12th October. St.Leonards on Sea, East Sussex

For more information visit http://www.hastingsartsforum.co.uk/colour-block-9-12-october

Watch out for my next post in a few days time when I will be listing some other events that may be of interest.

 

One thought on “Update

  1. Libby October 18, 2014 / 9:23 am

    Ooops sorry about the ‘Senior Moment’, the Colour Block exhibition has already finished. For some reason I read the date as 21st, meaning there would still be a few days left, not 12th, which has of course already gone!

Leave a Reply

