No Progress!

I have made a start on my Green Man weaving, but other than the bottom inch or so there has been no real progress. I have also woven the first inch of the face image using the same two shades of green and the light brown wool that I used for the Earth Spiral and which I have pictured here.

Green and brown wool

Unfortunately, while this combination worked well for the spiral it doesn’t seem to be working for the Green Man, the colours are too closely related and too dull and the mid green is rather too brown. So I have decided to undo the bit I have done and start again with some different greens pictured below:

More green wool

For the third shade I may use the brown wool, or possibly the mid greeny-brown wool in the first picture, whichever works best. This should result, I hope, in the face looking lighter and more defined. As I wrote in my last post this is the most complicated thing I have tackled so far. It is going to be very fiddly and there will be a lot of trial and error, but at least I have learned enough from the bit I have done (and am about to undo) to give me the confidence that I will be able to complete the piece.

Progress will continue to be slow for a while as October is going to be a very busy month with lots of other things going on and I don’t anticipate having much time for weaving. My major occupation for the month is the editing of a magazine I produce for an international sailing boat ‘Owner’s Association.’ We shall be away for much of November and I hope to take the weaving with me to work on in spare moments. Before we go I hope to have done enough to at least check that I have finally found a working colour combination. If I have managed to do any significant amount before we go away I shall report again, otherwise watch for my next report in late November!

8 thoughts on “No Progress!

  1. argentarachnid September 30, 2014 / 10:40 am

    I’m sure your progress will be good. Mine is slow and I know for my first attempt there are a lot of things incorrect about it but I am still enjoying that it is working somewhat

    • Libby October 1, 2014 / 2:12 pm

      It’s all about enjoyment and slow progress is better than no progress! If I get it done by Christmas I will be well pleased.

  2. daphnepurpus September 30, 2014 / 7:04 pm

    I like your second choices of green a lot! Good luck!

    • Libby October 1, 2014 / 2:10 pm

      Thank you Daphne 🙂

  3. TextileRanger October 15, 2014 / 3:44 pm

    What about using just a touch of another color on the edges where the greens meet? Maybe red, the complement, or a reddish-brown, or a light turquoise. It would add to the complexity, but I bet it would also give it that little spark!

    • Libby October 16, 2014 / 9:21 am

      Good idea. I was planning on using the brown or maybe the greeny-brown – as I mentioned I was trying to match it with the spiral. But your suggestion of using a shade of red is one I will seriously consider. Thanks for the sugesstion. 🙂

Leave a Reply

