Decision

Green Man PlaqueI  have finally come to a decision about what I am going to do on the reverse of the ‘Earth Spiral’ on my small frame loom. I have been looking into weaving something on a similar theme and have decided to have a go at a ‘Green Man’ face.

I have spent some time searching for a suitable design on which to base my weaving and have settled on this photo of the ‘Green Man’ plaque that I have on the back wall of my house; this being the nearest that I have come up with to my idea of what it should look like.

I don’t expect to complete this project very quickly as it will be the most complex weaving that I have attempted so far and I have to admit to being somewhat ‘chicken’ about even starting it, but I have now set up the frame loom ready to start so have no more excuses not to get on with it. The plan is to create a similar blended background and use more-or-less the same colour scheme as the ‘Earth Spiral’ and, like it, the finished piece should be about 8 ins square.

I had also hoped to have sorted out the warp on my ‘Big Beastie’ floor loom by now but unfortunately I can’t actually get at it to work on it at the moment as it is surrounded by bicycles, waiting for the new shed my husband is planning for them (he and my youngest son are preparing the base at the bottom of the garden as I write). I could move them somewhere else but then they would probably be in the way and need to be moved yet again so I guess I’ll just leave them where they are for another few weeks  – and get on with the Green Man. As I haven’t yet decided what I am going to do on the floor loom there is no real hurry to get the warping done and it isn’t as if I have nothing to get on with, if only I could stop procrastinating, gather my courage and go for it!

3 thoughts on “Decision

  1. daphnepurpus September 6, 2014 / 3:01 pm

    Can’t wait to see your Green Man! Good Luck with it!

    • Libby September 7, 2014 / 10:58 am

      Haven’t started yet – maye this afternoon!

  2. Pia September 6, 2014 / 5:29 pm

    Oh yes, nothing like a scary project to give you ideas for something completely different, is there!

Leave a Reply

