More Hanging

The exhibition draws nearer and I still have to complete my hanging preparations. I have now prepared two more – ‘Blue Moon’ and ‘Pinwheel’ below.

Blue Moon FramedPinwheel Mounted

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

‘Blue Moon’ on the left was stitched onto some oatmeal coloured evenweave fabric, then mounted on art board before being put into a recycled frame. I don’t feel guilty about using a second-hand frame as it will not be offered for sale at the exhibition. This is one I intend to keep. I like the blue frame and I think it suits the piece very well.

‘Pinwheel’ on the right has been sewn onto an artist’s stretched ‘box’ canvas which has first been painted grey (kindly done for me by my husband), which seems to set it off well. I had intended to frame this one too but had been unable to find a frame of the correct size and I didn’t want to invest in having one specially made. Sewing it to the canvas was a bit of an experiment and not the easiest sewing job I have ever done but I am pleased with the result.

This leaves me with just  ‘Aftermath’ and ‘Red Shift’  to complete – to remind yourself of what they look like  click ‘here’.

I am also producing some greetings cards to sell in the gallery shop. The pictures are printed and awaiting mounting onto the cards. I have just a week to finish my preparations, before delivery to the gallery on 19th May, but I’m fairly confident now that I will be ready on time!

 

4 thoughts on “More Hanging

  1. ashlityre May 13, 2014 / 12:01 am

    What a perfect circle- very nice. I need to learn about mounting tapestries. I have been pinning mine to walls with thumb tacks for ten years. Too busy weaving, I guess. 🙂

    • Libby May 13, 2014 / 11:31 am

      Thank you Ashlityre. How to hang/mount tapestries has been a steep learning curve as I prepare for this exhibition, there are so many possible ways of doing it. I have left it almost to the last minute as doing the weaving is much more fun. I hate seeing my looms with nothing on them!

      • ashlityre May 13, 2014 / 3:38 pm

        There is nothing worse than the sight of an empty loom. In fact, it makes me feel quite anxious.

      • Libby May 14, 2014 / 6:37 pm

        🙂

Leave a Reply

