The Black & White Sampler

I finally began to weave the black and white sampler that had initiated my journey into weaving towards the end of July 2012. I started by scaling up the drawing given in the book to make a cartoon to fix behind the weaving as a guide to the design. I slavishly measured and copied the cartoon precisely as it was in the book – this later proved to be something of a mistake!

All went well at first. Then I came to this bit:

Black and white sampler 1

The book described very well how to do the joins between the colours. Each time there was a new section to join it talked you through a new joining technique, but what it did not tell you was how to cope with joining all the sections together at one point. How hard can it be? I wove, undid, wove and undid countless times before I got it sussed and was on my way again.

A few inches later I realised my mistake in copying the illustration too slavishly instead of applying logic. Take a look at the next section shown here:

Blacj and White 2

Because I had copied the drawing exactly as illustrated instead of dividing the bottom section accurately into three, when I came to do the diagonals for the triangles they didn’t line up properly so the next section (the small triangles and uprights) wouldn’t work as per the original design and I ended up having to re-design the section (hubby had some input here too) – or I could have undone the whole piece and started all over again, but I didn’t really want to do this! You might like to compare my version with the original design in my previous post ‘The Nail Frame Loom’.

There were many other times when I had to unweave sections as I progressed through the sampler and weaving it was a major learning curve but I eventually finished it in October 2012. Here it is:

Sampler completeI was pleased with my efforts even if it is far from perfect. It was more complicated than I had anticipated and there is no way I could have done it without having worked through Kirsten Glasbrook’s sampler (plus a few others) first – see previous post.

The most important thing I learned was patience; weaving is a slow process and if you want to get it right you have to be prepared to unweave what could be several hours of painstaking work.

I also discovered I was hooked and I could not wait to commence the next project, which brings me back to the Big Beastie; the subject of my next post.

Leave a Reply

